Far East Odyssey: Le Cordon Bleu

Those of you who’ve been following my blog for the year will know that I’m somewhat into food and cooking. In all honesty it’s evolved into an obsession. So much so that I’ve stepped of my old life path to begin a new adventure. Thrown in the towel at my mundane London office job. Applied to culinary school and due to start in just over a week. Living the dream? Completely mental? Who knows.

For those interested to know, I will be attending Le Cordon Bleu Dusit, studying classical French gastronomy while decked out in chef whites and one of those funny looking hats. Although instead of attending culinary school on domestic (or even European) soil, I have chosen to take my adventures further afield and will be moving to Thailand. To be precise I’ll be calling the Thai capital city of Bangkok my home for the next year. Why Bangkok? Well to start with I’m of Thai descendent, my father was born and spent his childhood in Bangkok, so this almost feels like coming full circle on my family heritage. Secondly, I love Bangkok. It’s where the Western World meets the Far East. Where old meets new. The historic Grand Palace, Buddhist temples and traditional markets share the same sprawling cityscape as towering high-rise buildings, affluent shopping centres and vibrant nightlife. Thirdly, Thai food is amongst some of the best in the world. Famous for its intense fiery, chilli heat, although this is only one of the elements that comprises the fundamentals of all Thai cookery; salty, sour, sweet and bitter. It’s the balancing of these disparateĀ elements to create a complex, harmonious finished dish that requires a skilled craftsman, and is a skill I intend on learning during my time in Thailand.

Refined, classical, French cookery by day. Generations old, family recipes from back-alley street food stalls by night. With this move to the Far East it seems fitting to renaming this travelling food pilgrimage blog to something more relevant. And on this day, “English Hippy Tastes Thailand” was born from the ashes of English Hippy Eats America.

Stick around for the adventures, it’s sure to be a wild ride…

Thai Royal Crematorium

One comment

  1. Norma Gaulton · · Reply

    Hi I envy you on your new venture. My favourite food is Thai so find a cheap place where your mum and I can come on holiday, and I’ll start saving! All the very best and most importantly, ENJOY your experience. Love Norma xx Date: Tue, 24 Sep 2013 08:20:13 +0000 To: normagaulton@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

